Faith, Family & Kids

An Open Letter to Girls…

Dear Girls,

Hey, let’s start with the “good girls”. I see you walking through life with the “goody two-shoes” tag on your back. I understand that at times you feel like an outcast. I put “good girls” in quotes because, really? There is no such thing as a perfect or “good” person. We’re all flawed, but I know you still carry around a “good” label that seems like a bad thing to you at times. I want you to know that being “bad” is not always good, and being “good” is not always bad.

I watched a Disney channel sitcom last week that depicted the main character trying to get rid of her “good girl” image. She didn’t like being known to the entire high school as the “good girl”. I think she thought that she was missing a great adventure in life by not rebelling in some way. Oh, yeah, then this week everyone was talking about Miley Cyrus’ performance at the VMAs. I didn’t watch the VMAs, but I looked up her performance on Youtube to see what the fuss was all about. I’m praying for Miley. I’m praying that she will find Jesus and that He would be more satisfying for her than any “bad girl” image or extreme media attention. My heart breaks for her. Please know, this letter isn’t about bashing Miley or the Disney channel. These two things, however, have prompted me to write this. I see you, girls…the “good” ones that have a squeaky clean Disney image, and the ones with stains that you don’t think will ever be gone. I see you. I feel for you.

Girls, I see you feeling like a complete weirdo when others around you are laughing at something that makes your stomach twist in uncomfortable knots. I see you walking the halls of your school as the “good girl”. I know that sometimes it seems that the hottest guys really prefer a girl that knows her way around. I know that, if you’ve never been drunk, gotten high, had sex, etc., that you often have people around you pushing you to do those things. After all, they don’t want to be alone in their choices and it seems pretty fun to taint the “good girl”. To taint your reputation seems like their goal in life – a fun challenge. I know that it is hard. I know you wonder if you are missing out on all of the fun. Let me be the one to tell you that you are definitely missing out. You are missing out on regret. I know that you wonder if it’s even worth it to stand up for what is right. It is. I promise.

Perhaps you are the one that once rebelled, that once wore the “bad” label. I know you struggle. I see you trying to explain to your friends why you don’t want to do that old stuff any more. I see you feeling like the outcast after you’ve had a taste of popularity. It’s hard. I know that some days you feel strong and ready to face the world, but that some days you feel weak and insecure. I understand. Is it worth it to press on? Absolutely.

Hey. Maybe you’re the one that’s caught up in the whirlwind of the world. Are you the one that falls right in line with the crowd? Come close and listen for just a second…you are loved. Not by a world that pulls you in to gorge on all it has to offer. Nope. You are loved by Jesus. You are loved by The One who can pull you close and redeem your broken soul. I see you walking through life, doing all that is expected of you, but still feeling a deep sense of dissatisfaction. Do you long to feel whole? Are you seeking satisfaction? Jesus heals and satisfies. You are loved.

You see, girls, “bad” equals broken. We are all broken, but Jesus came to heal our brokenness and to make us whole. The way we walk shows our condition. Are you walking in brokenness, or wholeness? Girls, I’m praying for you.

I’m praying for you, “good” church girl, that stands up for what is right. I pray that you will walk in the grace of Jesus. I pray that you would not be self-righteous, but that you would proclaim the redeeming power of Jesus with your love, life and words.

I’m praying for you, newly-changed-by-Jesus girl, that is struggling to keep your old self at bay. I pray that you will walk in the grace of Jesus. I pray that you would be strong by depending on the Holy Spirit, and not your human self. I pray that the redeeming power of Jesus would be evident in your life and that your testimony would draw others to Him.

I’m praying for you, unsatisfied girl, that is searching for wholeness. I pray that you would find the grace of Jesus. I pray that God would place people in your life that are not afraid to speak of the love of Jesus. I pray that you would become whole, satisfied, and redeemed.

Girls, listen up. “Good” does not equal boring, dumb or flawed. On the contrary, if your “goodness” is a reflection of what Jesus has done in your life, then it represents life, wisdom and redemption. Your “goodness” cannot stand on it’s own, so please remember that it means nothing if not matched with the saving grace of Jesus.

Girls, please hear me out. Junior High, High School, and even college will all be only memories one day. The world may taunt and confuse you now, but please know that Jesus is eternal and His ways are always higher. I’m praying for all of you. It is not easy. It never was and it never will be a piece of cake to choose Jesus in this world. I’m praying for you. Pray for each other. Encourage each other. Stand beside each other. It really is okay, and even admirable, to stand for what is right…even if it means you walk around with an unpopular, “good girl”, label.

Love,

Me, and a million other women who have walked in your shoes…

Leave a comment