Not Back to School Blog Hop: 2012-2013 Curriculum

Not Back to School Blog Hop

Okay! I have been researching, reading and working hard to decide on our final curriculum choices for the 2012-2013 school year and I am proud to say that I have done it! It has all been ordered and we plan to begin school on August 21st. The first week will be pretty light and, in addition to lessons, will consist of organizing and getting adjusted to a school routine. I am linking up over at iHomeschool Network for their 4th annual Not Back-to-school Blog Hop, so be sure to head over there and check out the many great bloggers that have linked up as well! :)

Mady & Ty

Bible – “What We Believe” from the “Who is God?” series by Apologia and we will be using Seeds Family Worship with free printables for scripture memory from Totally Tots.

Spanish – Speekee TV

Ty (3) – Preschool

Letter of the Week Curriculum

Mady (5) – Kindergarten

Reading/Phonics – All About Reading Level 1

Handwriting – Horizons Penmanship (Grade 1)

Math – Math-U-See (Alpha)

Science – “Exploring Creation with Botany” by Apologia

History/Geography – Road Trip USA

Our core subjects will be Bible, Reading, and Math, with the others being 2-3 days per week, depending on the subject. I do NOT want to overwhelm and when looking at all of this, it can seem like a lot, but a lot of it is interactive. Spanish is something fun that they will watch and I know that they will look forward to doing that each week. We will also be doing some fun art projects throughout the year, but I am still looking into the best projects to incorporate. I am super excited to get started! I hope to post our plan and schedule soon also! Mady is so ready to start school and I think that we are going to have a lot of fun together this year. Ty will probably “help” with some of our Road Trip USA, as well as science, but I know that it will be more for Mady than anyone else. I have spent a lot of time planning this school year and I am not naive enough to think that all of this will be perfect, but nonetheless, I am excited for all of this to come together and to see how it plays out for us! I hope to give a mid-year update as well with a report on how it is all working for us. Soon, I will also be posting pictures of our dining school room and some looks at a fun toddler “busy basket” that I am putting together for the littlest one (1 year old) and Ty when they need something for entertainment during school time for Mady.

We are heading out for vacation this weekend and will be gone a little over a week, so I plan to have lots of cute beach pictures to share when we return!

Thanks for taking the time to read my little ol’ blog! ‘Til next time… :)

 

6 responses to “Not Back to School Blog Hop: 2012-2013 Curriculum

  1. Bless your heart, Stephania!! I’m so happy to see that you are set and ready…(without any help from me…so sorry that I wasn’t there for ya…I will show you a photo of my current schoolroom and then I know you will forgive me…lol) I am looking forward to this new school year too! I will be praying for you and your family as you begin this journey…it is so worth every moment!! We start in September. (Which Seeds CD are you starting with?) Awesome post!

    • Thanks, Jenn! Your prayers are much appreciated. No worries – you have had so much going on and I haven’t thought more about it. I just saw that you got your schoolhouse! Awesome! I can’t wait to see it all set up!!! :)

    • Oh! I haven’t decided yet which Seeds volume to start with… I might just begin with volume 1, but they all look and sound great, so I am undecided! :)

    • Thanks! I will check it out this week! We are excited about using the Apologia science and bible curriculum! :)

  2. We love Math-U-See. My son Kevin’s using Beta this year and my niece Hanna who I homeschool is using Delta.

Leave a Reply

